Lexington Philharmonic Announces 2016-2017 Boards of Directors

LEXINGTON, KY. – The Lexington Philharmonic Society is pleased to announce the following members of the 2016-2017 Board of Directors.

Lexington Philharmonic Society Officers & Executive Committee:
Michael McNalley, President
Carol McLeod, President Elect
R. Scott King, Past President
Tim Dunn, Treasurer
Jim Elliott, Secretary
Colman Elridge III, Chair, Community Engagement                                                  
Becky Reinhold, Chair, Development & Marketing

Lexington Philharmonic Society Board Members:
Carl Frazier                
John Gardner            
Dr. Jim Gay            
Linda Gorton
Dr. Don Granger        
Steve Grossman
Dustyn Jones        
Ellen Karpf                      
Oscar Mendiondo        
Dan Poposki                    
Dr. Ron Saykaly

The Lexington Philharmonic Guild is pleased to announce new officers for 2016-2017. The Guild is an arm of the Lexington Philharmonic Society which operates to assist with fundraising, educational, social and volunteer functions. Membership is open to all interested persons.

Lexington Philharmonic Guild Officers:
Carol McLeod, President
Elizabeth Rosenberg, President-Elect/First Vice President
Kathy Winger, Second Vice President
Sarah Cornette, Third Vice President
Tracy Lovan, Recording Secretary
Chris Smith, Corresponding Secretary
Trish Featherston, Treasurer
Faye H. Porter, Past President

The Lexington Philharmonic Orchestra Foundation is pleased to announce the following members of the 2016-2017 Board of Directors.

Lexington Philharmonic Orchestra Foundation Board Members:
Denise McClelland, Chair         
Carol McLeod, DVM
Larry Deener
Allison Kaiser
R. Scott King       
Michael McNalley
David Porter
Dr. Ron Saykaly

For more information, please contact the Lexington Philharmonic at (859) 233-4226, or through the website at www.lexphil.org.

The mission of the Lexington Philharmonic is to foster excellence and innovation in the performance and presentation of great music; to enrich the lives of our diverse citizenry; to educate current and future audiences and to bring distinction to our community through the orchestra’s presence and standing. Through LexPhil’s four core values of artistic excellence, innovation, collaboration and accessibility LexPhil will continue to move forward, artistically and purposefully, providing world-class musical experiences and impactful educational opportunities for the Bluegrass Region and beyond.  

Founded in 1961, LexPhil is the only professional orchestral organization in central Kentucky. Last year, LexPhil presented over 200 concerts and educational programs, including its Season Series, Holiday Concerts, Peanut Butter & Jelly Series for young children, Music Builds education programs, community programs and outdoor summer concerts. More information and tickets can be found at www.lexphil.org

Now in his eighth season with the Lexington Philharmonic, Music Director and Conductor Scott has led the orchestra in a significant transformation to align with the organizational values of artistic excellence, collaboration, innovation and accessibility.  Scott is passionate about engaging the broadest possible community in music as listeners, musicians, composers and advocates.  Through LexPhil collaborations with high schools, colleges and youth performing arts groups, Scott dedicates time and energy to educating emerging musical artists. His programming has expanded the orchestra’s repertoire and enhanced the national reputation of the organization through commissioning of new music, multi-media and interdisciplinary projects and international guest conducting.


All Lexington Philharmonic programs are made possible through the generous support of LexArts. In 2016-2017, the Lexington Philharmonic will receive a total of $170,000 in unrestricted support.    

LexPhil’s 2016-2017 Season is presented by the Dupree Initiative for Innovation, funded by the tremendous generosity of Thomas and Ann Todd Dupree.

The Kentucky Arts Council, the state arts agency, provides operating support to the Lexington Philharmonic with state tax dollars and federal funding from the National Endowment for the Arts.

The Saykaly Garbulinska Foundation, funder of the Saykaly Garbulinska Artist-in-Residence Program, generously brings innovative pianist Conrad Tao to LexPhil for its Arts In Healthcare partnership with UK Healthcare during the 2016-2017 season.

Special thanks to the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government for its continued partnership in ensuring a flourishing future for the arts in Lexington and central Kentucky.